Free Viewings #1

April 5, 2009 § Leave a comment

If you’re anything like me, a starving student, then you likely appreciate free things. Actually, even the wealthy appreciate free things, however, that’s more irritating than humble, as they can usually afford to pay the going rate. I digress.

Now, if you’re really like me, then you also like 60s new wave cinema. I know, I’m really separating the wheat from the chaff here, eh? I personally can’t afford to pay $30+ for the Criterion Collection DVDs. I do have a select few, but my wallet can’t keep up with my taste. So if you’re willing to live with 10 minute clips and streaming, there’s a wealth of excellent new wave films on YouTube.

First up is Jean-Luc Godard’s Bande À Part (Band of Outsiders) from 1964. Quentin Tarantino is clearly as fan, as his production company is called Band Apart and Pulp Fiction‘s famous dance scene has some eerie similarities to the dance scene in this film. It’s a great introduction to cinèma vérité and great to revisit even if you’re a seasoned fan. Below is part one of ten. Of course you can always buy the film.

Moving away from the predictable French New Wave cinema is a Czech New Wave film called Loves of a Blonde from 1965. I’m no expert on Czech films by any stretch of the imagination, however, having watched this film a few days ago I’ve concluded that I’m a fan. The dialogue is fantastic and film sits delicately on this balance of comedy and the bittersweet sadness of the working class, and the defiance of hope into hopelessness. The plot itself is relatively simple, but the encompassing story is the most interesting of all. The director, Milos Forman, went on to direct such English-language classics as One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. Below is part one. You can buy it here too.

Time and interest pending, I may continue a series of recommended free online films.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Free Viewings #1 at A Working History of Here.

meta

