Songs of the Week #1

June 20, 2009 § Leave a comment

I think I’m going to start a new series, songs of the week (we’ll see how long I keep this up). No, it’s not original, but originality is for wankers and Modernists. These songs will contain a mix of new and old tunes, but mostly reflect what I’ve been listening to that week. Usually around 5 songs or so, which I think is pretty good: short enough to get through; long enough to justify downloading.

This week:

What You Want, You Get by autoKratz: I just reviewed this album yesterday and I’d say this is one of the more interesting tracks on the album, a mixture of textural synths and upbeat thick drum machine goodness.

Hey You by Pony Pony Run Run: I know nothing about these guys except that they’re French and remind me a little of Phoenix’s first album. It’s just a fun summery track, with plenty of awesome remixes floating around the net. Lyrically, it’s lacking, however I can forgive that because it’s not their first language.

Bus Stop by The Hollies: A real oldie, late 60s I believe. British band, who were seemingly big Beatles fans. It tells this silly tale of a boy and girl in love who met at a bus stop. I mostly enjoy it for the vocal melody.

Gabriel’s Wings by The Family Cat: The B-side to the single “Tom Verlaine”, a gentle track, but quite lovely. I think it was ’89 or sometime around there, so it definitely sounds like it, kind of C86 sounding. Quite hard to find.

Heavenly Pop Hit by The Chills: The title really explains the track well. It’s a truly blissful example of jangly pop music from the New Zealand group, combining great rhythm with bouncy melody.

Download: http://www.rapidshare.com/files/246608448/songs_1.zip.html

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Songs of the Week #1 at A Working History of Here.

meta

