Songs of the Week #5

July 19, 2009 § Leave a comment

Not surprisingly, this week’s compilation contains 3 selections from the short reviews I did earlier.

The Mighty Lemon Drops “Count Me Out”– This song sounds so heavily Echo & The Bunnymen influenced. It’s impossible to miss it, but they do it so well. It was 1987, what can you expect?

Burning Hearts “I Walked Among the Trees”– The Finnish duo that seems to walk the line between plagarism and originality. I picked this song because I wanted to show everyone how the opening riff totally copies David Bowie, but at the same time the rest of it sounds all their own.

The Vaselines “Dying For It”– The Vaselines recorded two versions of this song and both are on Enter The Vaselines, but I much prefer this one, the faster original. It’s fuzzy, lo-fi and melodic genius. It makes me want to jump around like an idiot.

Elvis Presley “Suspicious Minds”– One of my favourite Elvis tunes. Yesterday I was on my way to a wedding and the songs came on the radio and I’ve had it stuck in my head ever since. I really just love the vocal melodies between The King and the female backing vocalists.

Carly Simon “You’re So Vain”– Again, I was on my way to this wedding and this song came on, which was a little weird because earlier that morning, I’d been getting ready and for no reason “I bet you think this song is about you, don’t you, don’t you?” was going off in my head–except it was the Janet Jackson version. So I found it rather weird when it was playing on the radio. I’m not a Carly Simon fan, and strangely enough, it’s been mostly because she has the biggest mouth ever and it always annoyed me, which I admit is the stupidest reason but it irks me. If she and Steven Tyler kissed they’d be 8 inches away with their lips still touching.

A Comparison. Download.

 Stay Gold.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Songs of the Week #5 at A Working History of Here.

meta

