Songs of the Week: Birthday Special

August 1, 2009 § Leave a comment

So it’s my birthday eve. In the past day I’ve been listening to my top 25 most played playlist on iTunes. I thought it’d be kind of fun to share the really strange results from this 4 year old computer, (on what is nearly my 21st birthday) which will feature songs that I constantly go back to and songs that I had a brief, but intense affair with. Obviously, songs that I only own on vinyl skew the results.

So I didn’t want to mess around with the numbering or anything so the songs are in the wrong order in the folder, but this is the original order below.

1. “Baby I Need Your Loving” by The Four Tops– I consider this a song that is almost perfect. A good string section pulls at my own heartstrings.

2. “Country Gentlemen” by Ambulance LTD– This was a grower, but I love the vocal style, that I find merges a more innocent American sound with the rough-edge of Liam Gallagher.

3. “Far Away” by Cut Copy– I’m a complete Cut Copy fangirl. I saw them open for Franz Ferdinand I guess 4 years ago and while everyone else seemed bored to tears, the realm of Australian electro was opened for me.

4. “Victorian Ice” by British Sea Power– A few years ago I really loved this song–really. The main melody is still fantastic, but I’m not a huge fan of most of their work.

5. “Battleships” by Travis– I don’t know if this is my favourite Travis song. If The Man Who had come out during the time I’ve owned this computer, it’s very likely “She’s So Strange” would’ve made the list, but as it is “Battleships” is in my top 10 of Travis songs. It’s beautiful.

6. “A Thousand Words” by Savage Garden– I think this was here for comedic relief. It is so incredibly 90s pop sounding. It features the classic synthesized “hit” sound that complimented so many dance tunes of the early 90s.

7. “Heroes” by David Bowie– It’s cliché, but this is my favourite Bowie song. It’s perfection.

8. “Lust” by The Raveonettes– A wonderful drone of a song, with fantastic vocals. I pretty much ignored the rest of the album, as I still feel Pretty in Black is far superior.

9. “Give Me Another Chance” by Big Star– The amazing 70s rock band headed by Alex Chilton. Is it any wonder Paul Westerberg later penned “Alex Chilton”? Not really! Features yet another string section crescendo near the end.

10. “Lloyd, I’m Ready to be Heartbroken” by Camera Obscura– Nodding to Scotland’s Lloyd Cole and the Commotions’ tune “Are You Ready to be Heartbroken?”, Camera Obscura bypass cute musical reference and give us a real pop gem.

11. “I Had an Excellent Dream” by The Dentists– The heavily 60s influenced band from the 80s rips the floor with the catchiest (and easiest) guitar riff. Expect some gang vocals for added bonus.

12. “Suffer Well” by Depeche Mode– This is not my favourite Depeche Mode song (that’d be the live version of “Never Let Me Down Again”) but I went through a phase where I really liked singing the chorus.

13. “People Of The Sky” by Sloan– This is what happens when you let the drummer write a song!

14. “Vision Valley” by The Vines– People lampoon The Vines. I don’t know why. This song is so blissful to my ears that it calls to be played again.

15. “Leaving” by Language of Flowers– This song is addictive to any fan of The Smiths or The Shop Assistants, except it’s not from the 80s.

16. “The Fall” by The Assistants– A Canadian band that I know zip about. I think “post-punk” and a manlier version of The Cure.

17. “Shadowboxer” by Fiona Apple– If you were me, you’d know how fun it is to sing this song.

18. “New English” by Ambulance LTD– Ah-hah! A band included twice. This just sounds like Britpop to me, so of course I’ll play it many times.

19. “Like A Honeycomb” by British Sea Power– Another repeat! Oddly enough I only really like three songs by British Sea Power and two of them, I like a lot and the rest not at all. Think Echo and the Bunnymen with this one.

20. “The Lion Will Lie Down With The Mortals” by McCarthy– Jangly, political goodness from the 80s. I think it has another proper name and the CD is mislabeled actually, but I can’t be arsed to find it.

21. “It Don’t Come Easy” by Ringo Starr– it’s so earnest and definitely not as good as anything the other Beatles did, but it has a cool guitar riff.

22. “Winning Days” by The Vines– I was bored by this song until I heard it climax and then I loved it ever so much.

23. “Welcome to the Dead Zone” by Manic Street Preachers– A B-side, with James signature epic singing.

24. “Crown of Creation” by Ride– From Carnival of Light, the band might’ve been falling apart but some of the songs were still damn good.

25. “Badhead” by Blur– On an album like Parklife, where every song sounds like it could be a single, and you can lose sight of some of the great album tracks that were not singles. Some of the lyrics seem to describe my life, for instance, “it’s no surprise that today I’d get up around two/ from a lack of anything to do” or conversely, “with nothing to do except get a touch of flu”.

Download

-stay gold.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Songs of the Week: Birthday Special at A Working History of Here.

meta

