The Death of Britpop: Oasis Bust Up

August 30, 2009 § 1 Comment

 

Get the fook away from me.

"Get the fook away from me."

Britpop’s peak was about 14 or 15 years ago, mid-90s, bright coloured track jackets, “football”, the Gallagher brothers’ eyebrows, Gibson ES-335 guitars in red, anti-grunge, Tony Blair (we all make mistakes)….

Oasis have gone up to the big Champagne Supernova in the sky.

While most of the bands from this era had busted up long ago, lucky to make it past the year 2000, and we lamented the loss of Blur (although they did reunite for some shows recently), I somehow thought Oasis were going to be like The Rolling Stones and just keep going. However, it was just announced that Noel Gallagher has left the band, evidently citing irreconcilable differences with Liam. “It’s with some sadness and great relief to tell you that I quit Oasis tonight. People will write and say what they like, but I simply could not go on working with Liam a day longer.”

I saw the band play last year, almost down to the day actually and I clearly remember somehow finding Brits in a Vancouver audience, and the sense of camaraderie in a huge stadium crowd during the old favourites was unmatched. On the way to the show and back, my friend Oli and I sang songs from Be Here Now.

Anyway, I’m pretty sure the band will reunite after Noel gets a stint of solo work out of the way, and Liam will make a fool of himself by attempting to write his own songs. I know how this goes. I just feel saddened because this really does signal the absolute end of an era, I mean, it was pretty much over with anyway after most of the Britpop bands busted up, but now that Oasis has finished it’s like an exclamation point on what was more like an ellipses. We all know that it’s just not the same when a band reunites, but let them get it all out of their systems.

Tomorrow I will wear one of my Oasis t-shirts.

Come on Noel, what do you think Andy Bell is going to do now?

Come on Noel, what do you think Andy Bell is going to do now?

 -stay gold.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to The Death of Britpop: Oasis Bust Up

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Death of Britpop: Oasis Bust Up at A Working History of Here.

meta

