Sun, Sun, Sun Here It Comes

March 4, 2010 § Leave a comment

Wow I needed this. A few weeks ago I mentioned in another post that my prof was going to lend me a record by local visual artist, Kathy Slade. Today she remembered to bring it and it’s actually really great. 12 Sun Songs by Cranfield and Slade, is a exactly what it describes in the title: 12 songs about sunshine, most of which are pop tunes from the 60s and 70s reinterpreted. Allegedly, Slade had to learn how to sing and her voice is quite nice, charmingly raw, I guess. It’s not cheesy, just mellow and delicate. Selections range from George Harrison to The Poppy Family (also from Vancouver) to The Kinks. With Vancouver’s tendency towards rain, apparently was an inspiration for these sun songs. Printed on appropriately yellow vinyl, I think I might have to find my own copy. According to the Emily Carr website where Slade is a member of staff, she’s working on an album of riot songs next.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sun, Sun, Sun Here It Comes at A Working History of Here.

meta

