For the balmy summer nights ahead

May 25, 2010 § 2 Comments

My favourite of the Yé-yé singers is Françoise Hardy, her soft and polite voice has been warmly singing to me with clangy drums, bright and round Fender sounding amps, sweetly swarming on top. All of this drenched with tube reverb and natural echoes. My French is shit, so most of the songs I have no clue what she’s saying. Best I can tell, it’s mostly innocent love songs. To be honest, I don’t care what she’s saying. Look at that face, would you care?

The hardest part of this entry was choosing which picture to post.

So I took the liberty of copying the first 11 songs of a ‘best of’ compilation: I opted the remaining 7 out because they’re from her crap 80s career. I’m sorry to the some of you who may be completists, but just trust me. For those who care, they’re lossless files too. Anyway, it’s all very sweet and romantic. Enjoy.

My picks by the way:

“Je ne suis là pour personne”, “Le temps des souvenirs”, “Tous les garçons et les filles”, “Je Veux qu’il revienne” and “Le premier bonheur du jour”… and well, all the songs.

-stay gold

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to For the balmy summer nights ahead

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading For the balmy summer nights ahead at A Working History of Here.

meta

