Favourite Catchy Intros

July 28, 2010 § Leave a comment

So I know I’ve been virtually silent on here for over a month. I started writing things, only to decide they weren’t interesting or all-encompassing enough. Well anyway, here’s something I started three weeks ago, when I suddenly realized how impossible it is to think of all my favourite intros, I mostly gave up, nevertheless, I picked out some decently obvious ones. I think it also speaks to the fact that I can listen to new music, but I always seem to revert backwards. I feel old rather suddenly.

Yesterday at work I had “Lovelife” by Lush (the song, not the album) stuck in my head, and if you ever hang out with me you might notice that I sometimes whistle “This Charming Man”. These are intros that get stuck in my head and never leave. So with that I’ve decided to try compiling some of my favourites. I’m not including the nice intros, but rather the ones that standout in my opinion as being catchy like mad. If this list feels like a trip through my music collection, find it as no coincidence. And if most of these songs were singles at some point, take that as no surprise either. These are old standbys and good friends.

Lovelife by Lush

This Charming Man by The Smiths

Everyday is like Sunday by Morrissey

If You Tolerate This Your Children Will be Next by Manic Street Preachers

Motorcycle Emptiness by Manic Street Preachers

Stupid Girl by Garbage

Tomorrow by Ladytron

Beautiful Ones by Suede

Money City Maniacs by Sloan

Disco 2000 by Pulp

Jesus Says by Ash

Bang by Blur

Look Back in Anger by Television Personalities

Red Sleeping Beauty by McCarthy

Wake Up to the Sun by Limblifter

Souvlaki Space Station by Slowdive

Throw Aggi Off the Bridge by Black Tambourine

The World is as Soft as Lace by Felt

Nothing Can Stop Us Now by Saint Etienne

Anyway That You Want Me by Spiritualized

Anyway, this is kind of a bizarre list I understand.

-Stay Gold, and Stay Tuned, because there might be some real news sometime.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Favourite Catchy Intros at A Working History of Here.

meta

