My Favourite Releases of 2010

December 10, 2010 § 5 Comments

So I have trouble remembering everything that came out this year, but I do think this is going to be a better decade than the 2000s for music. In no particular order. Also, apologies for the different sizes of images, I got them off the net. I decided not to include reissues like Black Tambourine’s release of old stuff, though it was awesome. I probably forgot something. Any suggestions?

Sambassadeur European

I wish most bands sounded this good. Strings and an amazing drummer, solid female vocals.


The Vaselines Sex with an X

The usual charm of The Vaselines updated with the same perverse topical lyrics.


Dum Dum Girls I Will Be

Buzz band of the year, lo-fi excellence, good melodies.


Belle and Sebastian Write About Love

Scottish goodness and pop together, again and at last. What can I say?


Wild Nothing Gemini

Somebody has been listening to their House of Love records, and every Creation band.


Parenthetical girls Privilege Parts 1 and 2

Forays into musical experimentation from string ballads to euro pop. Always strange and always good.

Woods At Echo Lake

Rootsy, noisy with falsetto vocals and excellent harmonies.

Xiu Xiu Dear God, I Hate Myself

Self-deprecating and on par for Xiu Xiu.


Manic Street Preachers Postcards From a Young Man

The band does epic, soaring choruses, and seems a bit cheerier than in the past.


Phil Wilson God Bless Jim Kennedy

Soulful vocals, and really nice instrumentation–refreshing.


Best Coast Crazy For You

Surf rock and girls mix, evidently.


Edwyn Collins Losing Sleep

His voice is still quite strong, benefits from collaboration with other famed musicians. Mixed bag.


Gigi Maintenant

There should be more modern music influenced by the 60s pop groups. Glorious tube and plate reverbs.


The Cavalcade Many Moons

Gentle vocals, clean and warm guitar with snappy chords.


The Fresh & Onlys Play It Strange

Complex, messy and requires full attention.


The Liminanas self-titled

French rock, buzzy guitar underlies everything, great basslines.

The Depreciation Guild Spirit Youth

An album with no attack, very soft and lovely for having so much video game noises. Vocals sometimes too quiet.


The Love Language Libraries

Rousing, boisterious anthems.


Kanye West My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

Just, Really. Really. Really. Good. You’ve probably heard it already anyway.


Teenage Fanclub Shadows

The band shows their fandom of The Byrds and the 90s, but updated.

-stay gold.

 

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to My Favourite Releases of 2010

  • musingsofamusiclover says:

    I’ve gotten a lot of singles off these albums free on iTunes and fuse.tv, and I can’t say I dislike any of them. Kanye West doesn’t really seem to mix with all the light indie rock stuff, though, but maybe that’s just my taste.

    • 30daysinthehole says:

      Even if you don’t dig Kanye West, the album has a lot of elements that seems to fuse electro, hip hop with indie rock conventions.

      • musingsofamusiclover says:

        I have heard some praise of it along those lines. I guess I would have to listen to the album before I could judge it fairly.

  • Phil Wilson says:

    Thanks a lot for thinking of me. Means a lot that people like it!

    • 30daysinthehole says:

      And you read my silly blog post! Anyway, yes, of course it’s awesome. I have a couple June Brides things too, which I love, but it’s hard to find it here.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Favourite Releases of 2010 at A Working History of Here.

meta

